With the recent change of the Bylaws, the Board of Directors elects its Chairperson.

2020-Now: John Bills, Inaugural Chair

In its almost 100 year lifetime, the Club has had many distinguished Presidents:

Dr. Clyde Fisher
(May 1927–June 1936)
Dr. Orestes H. Caldwell
(June 1936–June 1938)
Dr. Clement S. Brainin
(June 1938–June 1952)
Leo Mattersdorf
(June 1952–May 1954)
Virginia Geiger
(May 1954–June 1954)
W. Wallace Benjamin
(June 1954–June 1956)
Robert Frey
(June 1956–June 1958)
Edgar M. Paulton
(June 1958–June 1960)
Aileen A. Pindar
(June 1960–June 1962)
Patrick V. Rizzo
(June 1962–June 1964)
Alfred Goldsmith
(June 1964–June 1966)
Antoinette Pridmore
(June 1966–June 1967)
Jane H. Douglas
(June 1967–June 1969)
Abel M. Silvan
(June 1969–June 1971)
Carmine V. Borzelli, Jr.
(June 1971–June 1973)
David Nevin
(June 1973–June 1975)
Carmine V. Borzelli, Jr.
(June 1975–June 1977)
Philip Pinches
(June 1977–September 1978)
John Marshall
(November 1978–June 1985)
Sidney I. Scheuer
(June 1985–June 1988)
John Pazmino
(June 1988–June 1990)
Fred C. Hess
(June 1990–June 1992)
Lynn Darsh
(June 1992–June 2002)
Michael O’Gara
(June 2002–June 2006)
Richard Rosenberg
(June 2006–June 2012)
Marcelo Cabrera
(June 2012–September 2017)
Peter Tagatac
(September 2017–June 2019)
Irene Pease
(June 2019–June 2020)
Brian Berg
(June 2020–present)

Read Article: A History of the First Forty Years of the Amateur Astronomers Association

Patrick Rizzo wrote the original version of this history in 1967. At that time the Eyepiece was a mimeographed newsletter. I first saw a photocopied version of this in 1997. I saw that he had put a great deal of work into making this article. I also realized the great value of keeping this record and making it available to whoever would like to know about the early history of our organization. Rizzo’s style includes much recording of lists of names. Many people today might not appreciate such detail. Anyone who reads this will soon come to see that the AAA had a fine history with many different activities taking place. These activities helped enlighten many people, most of whom do not get recognized here. This is an organization that has touched many lives. Here in a small way is a part of that story. Mr. Rizzo’s original text contained many errors and typos. This is understandable considering the fact that it was difficult to correct a mimeographed copy. One would not expect a highly polished work to appear. Still the amount of labor that he put into this deserves recognition. Stew Rorer was kind enough to scan the copy of this history into an electronic format. I tried to correct as many of the spelling and grammatical errors as was possible. I did this while trying to keep to his original words as much as possible. Stew also found many errors that I had overlooked. Susan Forma then did some extensive proofreading. Without their help this history would not have been possible.

Patrick Rizzo passed away on December 5, 1998. This article is a tribute to his hard work.

Stephen Lieber
November 6, 1999

Read this article by XXXX about the first forty years of AAA.